Divorce and Family Law Attorney in San Jose, Santa Clara County

(Updated 09/09/2018)

Divorce and Family Law Attorney in San Jose, Santa Clara County 

With the centrally located office in Milpitas, California, we can help you with all your Family laws issues in Alameda County.

With the focus on family values like child custody and family support, we are a law firm with the experience to locate marital assets and trace marital money even in India.

We have always been a family law firm with the heart to protect children by keeping them out of the legal proceedings. We believe that in the Family Laws case, family is the most important part to protect.

Our ADA accessible office is located in Milpitas with free parking . Call us at 510-600-3083, or email us today.

Who Can File Divorce in California ?

Even if you were married in a different Country and have non-immigrant immigration status, you can still file a divorce in California. To file a divorce in California you or your spouse must have lived in:

  • California for the last 6 months, and
  • Any of the California county for the last 3 months

For more variations and typical situations read our Frequently Asked Questions – Family Laws

Grounds for Divorce

There are mainly two grounds for divorce in California :

First : No Fault Divorce

It is called the divorce on the basis of Irreconcilable differences.

You don’t have to prove anything to get the divorce. It is the most common ground for Divorce in California.

Second : Permanent legal incapacity to make decision ( Incurable insanity)

The other ground for divorce in California is permanent legal incapacity to make decision.

It is a very rare ground for divorce and almost nobody uses this. You need a Medical proof that your spouse was insane when the petition was filed-and remains incurably insane to use this ground.

How to File Divorce in California ?

To start the process though this law office you need to follow these three steps.

  1. Sign the Retainer-ship agreement and Pay the Retainer-ship Fee.
    You can download the copy of retainer-ship agreement from HERE. The minimum retainer-ship fee for family law cases is $2500.00. Read the Payment methods to make the payment.
  2. Fill the Client Intake form.
    You can download the client intake from HERE.
  3. Sign the Docs to file the divorce/Separation/Annulment case.
    The attorney will prepare the documents for your signature and will file the documents with the court after your signatures.

Contact Us for Confidential Legal HELP

captcha